# HOUSE COMMITTEE ON MUNICIPAL, PAROCHIAL AND CULTURAL AFFAIRS

Minutes of Meeting 2012 Regular Session March 15, 2012

## I. CALL TO ORDER

Representative Girod Jackson III, chairman of the House Committee on Municipal, Parochial and Cultural Affairs, called the meeting to order at 10:03 a.m. in House Committee Room 6 of the State Capitol in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. The secretary called the roll.

## II. ROLL CALL

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Representative Girod Jackson III, Chairman Representative Robert E. Billiot, Vice Chairman Representative Taylor F. Barras Representative Regina Ashford Barrow Representative John A. Berthelot Representative Wesley T. Bishop **Representative Jared Brossett** Representative Terry R. Brown **Representative Roy Burrell** Representative Michael E. Danahay Representative Kenneth E. Havard Representative Dalton Honoré Representative Stephen J. Ortego Representative Stephen E. Pugh Representative Clifton R. Richardson Representative Thomas P. Willmott

#### **STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Tina Righteous, Committee Attorney Valarie Banks, Committee Secretary Arletha Penn, Committee Clerk Bryan Vincent, Division Director David Gauthier, Central Staff Legislative Analyst

#### **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Representative Austin Badon Representative Barbara M. Norton

Mattie Franklin, Sergeant at Arms

## III. OPENING REMARKS

Chairman Girod Jackson III and Vice Chairman Robert Billiot introduced themselves to those in attendance.

## IV. INTRODUCTION OF MEMBERS AND STAFF

At the chairman's request, committee members introduced themselves and described the districts they represented. Staff members were recognized by the chairman.

## V. OTHER BUSINESS

Representative Pugh offered a motion to adopt the August 26, 2011, and December 16, 2011, interim meeting minutes of the House Committee on Municipal, Parochial and Cultural Affairs. Without objection, the minutes were adopted by a vote of 11 yeas, 0 nays, and 1 abstention. Representatives Berthelot, Billiot, Brossett, Brown, Burrell, Danahay, Havard, Honoré, Ortego, Pugh, and Richardson voted yea. Chairman Jackson abstained.

Representative Brossett offered a motion to adopt committee rules that were included in members' folders (Exhibit A). There was no objection, and the committee rules were adopted by a vote of 12 yeas, 0 nays, and 1 abstention. Representatives Barras, Berthelot, Billiot, Brossett, Brown, Burrell, Danahay, Havard, Honoré, Ortego, Pugh, and Richardson voted yea. Chairman Jackson abstained.

# VI. COMMITTEE JURISDICTION

Chairman Jackson asked the committee attorney, Ms. Tina Righteous, to explain items that may come before the committee based on its subject matter jurisdiction. She discussed jurisdictional issues in a memo from her to members dated March 15, 2012, and entitled "Committee Jurisdiction" (Exhibit B).

#### VII. PRESENTATIONS

Following is a list of individuals who made introductory presentations to the committee of the agencies they represented:

Lieutenant Governor Jay Dardenne, representing the Louisiana Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, 1051 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802, (225) 342-7009, <u>ltgov@crt.la.gov</u>, who presented pie and bar charts of statistics he discussed on tourism in Louisiana (Exhibit C);

Ms. Stacy Bonnaffons Moreland, representing the Louisiana Office of Community Development / Disaster Recovery Unit, 150 North Third Street, Suite 200, Baton Rouge, LA 70809, (225) 342-1626, <u>stacy.bonnaffons@la.gov</u> and Mr. Dan Rees, (225) 323-8610, <u>dan.rees@la.gov</u>, who presented

data on recovery assistance to residents of the state following Hurricanes Katrina, Rita, Gustav, and Ike (Exhibit D);

Mr. Brad Sweazy, representing the Louisiana Office of Community Development / Disaster Recovery Unit, and the Louisiana Housing Corporation, (225) 333-2346;

Mr. Don Hutchinson, representing the Louisiana Housing Corporation, Division of Administration, 1201 North Third Street, Suite 7-210, Baton Rouge, LA 70802, (225) 763-8749;

Mr. Robert Lawrence, representing the Office of State Examiner, Municipal Fire and Police Civil Service, 8550 United Plaza Boulevard, Suite 901, Baton Rouge, LA 70809, (225) 925-7097, rlawrence@ose.louisiana.gov, and Ms. Jacqueline B. Cummings, (225) 925-4400, cummings@ose.louisiana.gov, who presented data on services offered by the office (Exhibit E);

Mr. Fabian Blache, representing the Louisiana Association of Chiefs of Police, 700 North 10th Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802, (225) 387-3261, <u>fabianlacp@bellsouth.net</u>, who distributed business cards to members (Exhibit F);

Mr. Roland Dartez, representing the Police Jury Association, 707 North 7th Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802, (225) 344-9863, <u>attyrol@aol.com</u>, who presented a memo to members dated March 15, 2012, entitled "Police Jury Association of Louisiana History and Purpose" (Exhibit G); and

Mr. Tom Ed McHugh, representing the Louisiana Municipal Association, 700 North 10th Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70821, (225) 654-2106, <u>tmchugh@lma.org</u>, who presented a memo to members dated March 15, 2012, entitled "Organizational Meeting" (Exhibit H).

# VIII. CLOSING REMARKS AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were no announcements.

#### IX. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 12:36 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Girod Jackson III, Chairman

Date Approved: